The Board of Directors of Camphill Communities Ontario

Mark McAlister President

Mark was introduced to Camphill 40 years ago by Carlo Pietzner, the founder of Camphill USA. This meeting was deeply inspiring and set the tone for Mark’s career as a management consultant and Board volunteer. The central theme of his work is the renewal and deepening of human communication in the context of an increasingly technocratic society. Mark is currently involved with several projects advocating for the rights of marginalized people.  Mark became the President of Camphill Communities Ontario in 2015.

Noreen McDonald Vice-President

Noreen McDonald is a teacher for the Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board and has been a Board member on the Camphill Board since 2013.

Michelle Atefi Secretary-Treasurer

Michelle Atefi lives in Barrie. Since 2010, Michelle has operated her own Accounting and Bookkeeping business. Michelle joined the Board of Camphill Communities Ontario in 2015.

Barry Marynick Past President

Barry has been involved with the CCO board for several years.  His sister-in-law was a companion at CCO for 17 years and served as the main inspiration for Barry’s desire to serve the community as a board member.  He is a retired school teacher/counsellor and athletics coach who worked in Ontario secondary schools for over 30 years. He also served with the Toronto Children’s Aid Society as well as Jewish Family and Child Services as a social worker and child protection worker.

Susan Graham-Clay Director

Susan Graham-Clay lives in Barrie and joined the Board of Camphill in 2011.

Chris Wheeler Director

Chris Wheeler lives and works in Barrie, Ontario. He has been a Board member for Camphill for 3 years. He is a Senior Leader with Family Connexions. Chris and his wife of 30 plus years have 4 grown children Caitlin, Michael, Anthony and Stephen. Anthony is a service recipient in the Sophia Creek Day Program.

Terry Kirk Director

Terry Kirk B. Sc. is a board member of Camphill Communities Ontario and Camphill Foundation Canada. He is a retired environmental consultant with a degree in earth sciences. He also holds certificates in business management, fundraising and resource development.  He has a governance function on CFC board policy and is the Chair of the Investment subcommittee. In addition he writes grant applications for CFC’s beneficiaries. Terry has been associated with Camphill as far back as the 1950’s. He currently resides in Barrie Ontario in the Sophia Creek neighbourhood.

Chuck Kyd Director

Chuck Kyd was born and raised in Ontario. He has been part of the Camphill Movement since 1980 during which time he has completed the Camphill Seminar in Curative Education and helped to establish Camphill Communities Ontario in both sites; Nottawasaga near Angus and Sophia Creek in Barrie. He served on the Executive Committee of the board of the Camphill Association of North America for six years. He helped to initiate the Camphill Foundation Canada in the year 2000 and until 2016 was the Secretary. He has since left that board and joined the board of Camphill Communities Ontario. Though retired from regular duties, he carries on as an active member of the Camphill community. He lives and works in the Sophia Creek neighbourhood with his wife Diane and lots of wonderful neighbours.

Neil Evans Director

Neil has a Bachelor of Business Management from Ryerson Polytechnic University in Toronto and has obtained the accounting designation of CMA (Certified Management Accountant). He is currently a Board member of both Camphill Communities Ontario and Camphill Foundation Canada. He joined the board of Camphill Communities Ontario in 2012 as Treasurer and is currently Treasurer of Camphill Foundation Canada.